Further On Well, What a Change

So, I didn’t expect it but today finds me on the path to my next chemotherapy. I guess it started on Saturday when I just felt, bad, stale, stayed in bed most of the day. I went out dancing at night, but couldn’t move much, might have been me, might have been the music – most probably me. However Sunday was horrific, I spent the night writhing in pain, I must have taken at least four of my painkillers before giving up. I was throwing up this thick greenish black stuff with coffee grinds in it (well, thats what it looked like and I got several chances to look up close). First thing Monday morning I called up and asked for a doctors appointment, sorry they said “the doctor is busy” you can’t see him until May (!!what!!). So I asked for an appointment with a nurse, who called me back first and actually got me an appointment with the doctor that day (see, its all a con).

Forward Into The Past

So I crawl into the oncologists office. At this point I have taken another couple of painkillers and these kicked in so I’m feeling vaguely human. Still, once in the office I start crying while talking with the doctor. He did explain some things for me. The pain, why it was so incredible – and was this the start of another stage of my cancer? This terrified me more than anything. The doctor told me that it hurt so much as one of the tumors in my liver would occasionally press against a nerve ending in the liver. Made sense to me. I asked the doctor how long he thought I had if I did nothing “months or years” was his rather vague answer, but it made me happy, even if death is in your future its a lot easier to face from a distance. Anyway, the pain had weakened me and when he broached the subject of chemotherapy I went for it. Now I wonder, the scheduler called today to schedule my first infusion which is due to last for four hours. God help me, and I mean that. At the tuition meeting I think I am going to ask the nurse if I can start at a shorter infusion and work my way up, I am definitely paranoid about chemo now. Before I left the doctor prescribed me some morphine for when I have periods like this again, hopefully not for a LONG LONG time.

More Radio More KOWS

So, my favorite therapy is radio, started off with my morning show on KGGV LP, reading stuff from the newspaper and playing big band stuff, nothing to complain about there, I had a bunch of fun. Then comes the afternoon and I am off again to KOWS for my Tuesday music show. The radio station is above a fabulous organic restaurant called Howards so I stopped by before the show and got myself a healthy juice (trying to eat right, all part of the program.)

I am trying to get better each show I do and I think this time I improved on my mic breaks. Kept myself comfortably in the green range and talked quietly. At the last staff meeting (also the first) I met Jeffrey Weissman, who is in a similar health position to myself and is soon to be a DJ on KOWS. Jeffrey is a ‘professional’ entertainer and has his own website, try it: http://www.jeffreyweissman.com should take you there. If it doesn’t let me know. Anyway I met Jeffrey at the meeting and picked his brains for advice about my mic breaks, I could tell that he didn’t really want to go there (I mean you never know how people are going to react to advice even if its solicited) but he suggested I move about less (mic not omnidirectional), don’t be afraid of a little silence, and one other thing that I forget! Anyway the point is I want to learn, I want to get better because I want to get somewhere. Or at least sound good while I’m trying. And Jeffrey, I don’t think I moved about too much while doing my mic breaks, thanks for the advice.

Dr. Slavin Works With Dr. Bozdeck

Or so I hope anyway. My oncologist said he was willing to work with Dr. Slavin, which made me happy and I’m sure Dr. Slavin would rather communicate with another doctor but sheesh this puts the procedure months into the future. Perhaps though that will give me the time I need to up my funds.

Basically All Is OK

OK, I admit it, most of the time I am pretty happy. Even though there are periods of pain for the most part I am a very lucky person, blessed with great acquaintances, friends, fabulous pets and wonderful music. A boyfriend might be nice, but there I go complaining again. Anyway while I am hacking away at this keyboard I might as well put out a request to the universe to supply me with some supportive, loving companionship to help me through these times.

2 comments so far

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. sd gross on

    Hi!
    Thanks for sharing….even though it’s painful and frustrating to read about what you’re going through and knowing I can’t be of any help. I’m going to be doing my first show on Monday 3/3 from 2 to 4 pm, and it’s ALSO going to be called “The Mystery Train”. Same kwazy konductor, just a different set of tracks.
    Just wanted to let you know I respect and admire your strength, courage and all the positive energy you’ve shared with us. Feel free to call anytime you’re inclined. affectinately
    stephen


Leave a Reply

