Good News for Me – I Think

Well, Thursday came around and I was to meet with my nurse practitioner and afterwards my doctor. I was told that he would be talking about a new kind of chemo and perhaps pain management. So, I arrive at the oncologist and they have no record of an appointment for me. Well, it was last minute, it was only arranged yesterday I told them (they send me over to scheduling.) Scheduling thought it sounded suspicious and assured me that I wouldn’t see both my nurse and doctor. Well . . . So, I waited and waited and after about 30 minutes I was brought into one of the little cubicles they sit you in. Had my blood pressure taken: 100/60 sheesh a little low I think, but good enough to get me here. Temp is OK, oxigination is Ok, weight is lower at 143lbs.

Nice Surprize

So after all that I wait a little and along comes my nurse practitioner. She seems happy and says she doesn’t understand why they have called me in for a special appointment because the ct scan results are good (then why didn’t they give them to me sooner than 6 days after they were available?) Anyway, it seems there has been ‘growth’ but very very small so this is actually good. Maybe now it will slow to a halt, then reverse and just go away. I asked about the pain, which has been enduring, excruciating and frightening. My nurse thought that my pain wasn’t caused by my tumors (because the liver hasn’t pain receptors, which is strange as the doctor told me in February that my pains back then were probably from a tumor growing into a nerve ending in the liver.) I don’t want to argue so I didn’t, she then said that it actually could be gas, which can be incredibly painful, but for days on end? I guess with the damage to the colon and the whole system there it wouldn’t be too unlikely that I could end up having bad gas problems. Anyway, I took it under consideration, went out and celebrated with a dish I shouldn’t have had – orange sesame chicken. It tasted delicious but I threw it up when I got back home. Should know better than to eat meat, its funny but I’ve never liked meat and I have never craved it as much as I have going through some of this chemo.

KOWS Meeting

Saturday brought the next KOWS meeting, 11 a.m., it was a potluck, which means a trip to Safeway in my case, I really should learn to cook. There are three starter meetings, I guess we couldn’t agree on a date and chose three equally! Ha, that bodes interesting times at future meetings. I make it through two hours of the meeting with my stomach making comment after comment:  growl, whine, growl, growl, and then my ‘gas pains’ or whatever kicked in and I had to excuse myself, all doubled over tippy toeing out of there gently so I wouldn’t throw up inside. And, I made it most of the way up the driveway before the vomit came again, but safely on the gravel and around the rose bushes, I hope they (the roses) didn’t mind. Hope people don’t think I am rude for shuffling out so early (we were only about a quarter of the way through the agenda). There are some amazingly talented people at KOWS and I look forward to getting to know them. I really want to go to tomorrow’s meeting also, especially as Jeffrey Weisman is going to be there, it would be nice to see him. But I have an offer of a dog walking adventure out at the coast with Noel from KGGV and that sounds great.

KGGV and Beth’s Wonderful Offer

Beth (KGGV’s station manager) came by my home the other day and offered to set up a system for me, so that should I need help I can get it. I was amazed and it seems that many people have offered to help out and join a team which Beth is putting together, mostly people from KGGV and the Community Church. Beth wants me to reach people I know who would like to be part of this, I find this hard but I started off by asking Donna who works at Pat’s Restaurant, my breakfast dive, and has offered before to give me a ride should I need one to chemo. I asked Donna if she would like to be part of my team and she said yes with enthusiasm!! Well, that was easy but I am having trouble going forward from there. I have to learn how to do these things if I want to get better because I have to open my eyes to how wonderful life really is and can be, and meeting all the wonderful people who are willing to help me is bound to do that. This is exciting for me, I think there will be one big meeting with everyone next Thursday and after that there is a system set up and it all goes ‘automatically.’  I slept well that night and woke feeling wonderful and cared for.  What more could you ask for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

