A Break In The Clouds

Well, last night I had great pain so I took some morphine around 2 a.m. but woke up this morning feeling wonderful, pretty healthy and ‘in my body’ and so much stronger than I had in a long time -weeks I’d say. To say I am happy about that is a super understatement. So I celebrated by going to Pat’s for breakfast, forgot to mention that an appetite came along with the new found strength. I knew what I needed, very light scrambled eggs on dry toast with a huge glass of orange juice. So I went there and got that and enjoyed it very much, thank you. Perhaps there could have been some health advantages if I had trolled on over to the wonderful Howards, but there is companionship at Pat’s that somehow misses being on the menu but is definitely there for me. Even when I go there and don’t speak a word its fun for me to listen to the banter between everyone else . They always remember Simon too.

This week has seen a couple of visits to doctors. Monday I went to the Russian River Health Center and got tested for a urinary tract infection (trying to find the cause of the pressure in my abdomen). Seems there’s ‘something’ there so I get the antibiotics for the infection and some Prilosec to help with the gas pressure. The doctor mentions possibly an ulcer, that sounds likely to me, but we will see. He prescribes then tells me to come back in two weeks and they will do more comprehensive tests to see what is going on generally with me.

Back To The Oncologists

I’m starting to hate that word oncologist, making me nauseous. Wednesday I got another appointment at the Oncologists and met with my nurse practitioner, after having my blood pulled. They weigh me and I now weigh 132 lbs, this is a bit freaky, always wanted to be slender but haven’t weighed this little since adolescence (and I mean since starting adolescence). I will enjoy the look while I may but it does send out warning signals yelling “cancer” shhhhhh.

Cheryl (my nurse practitioner) sits down and immediately says that they now think that the pain is caused by the cancer – not gas. She read me my CEA levels (readings which show how much cancer is active in your blood) and my levels had gone from 17 to 27, not encouraging, under 6 is normal. So, she insists I get back to some chemo asap, like tomorrow or the day after. I went for the day after but will be there . . . they sure know how to frighten you at these places.

Later I thought that the level change might be because I had a liver cleanse and it shook up my system and the blood pull with the high reading might be from the one after the cleanse (as it should have cleaned some cancer out of the liver) Oh well, who knows, I’m getting so I almost don’t care. I feel like grandma sometimes, always talking about this ache and that pain (not that my grandmas ever did, they were angels).

Getting Used to the Morphine

I had to take some morphine late this afternoon after all. I am trying to be more accepting of this. The pain is there and has to be taken care of and the morphine works on deadening the pain. If I am going to take morphine every day then I want to figure out how I function on it, so I started doing some housework, danced around a bit and just started to act normally rather than lying down on the bed – something I have done way too much of these past few weeks.

So, all in all I still feel great. Maybe I did end up taking the morphine but I managed to operate normally on it and now the morphine is out of my system I still don’t feel any pain.  I think it might be my next assignment to figure out the pain management as I don’t want any more pain.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

